• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Laminator Top Roller NO HEAT???

onlyjames

The World Is Never Enough
There isnt a "Laminator" forum....so I was wondering if anyone has ever had the top roller stop heating up? I have a D&K Expressions 42" and the top roller has stoped heating up out of no where??? I dont get it, and its making me go crazy...everyone know how much we pay for these machines.

Anyone?? ever had something like this happen?

Thanks!

MyShop

i have no experience with your brand of laminator but here's my thoughts on a GBC Orca 64 that I had. It had a glass tube style heater on the top & bottom rollers. Either your tube is broke or the connectors on the ends of the tubes have fried themselves. It should be fairly easy to disassemble and check for continuity from end to end, unless of course you are under warranty and then have a service tech look at it.

onlyjames

The World Is Never Enough
Thanks, I actually just figured everything out and have an Update for everyone. This may be something to remember when YOUR thinking about buying a D&K Scaminator.

The bad piece was actually the small rotating connector at the end of the top roller (checked with an ohm meter). So, here is the kicker.....