• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Laptop Advice

mmorse

Im a newbie to working at home due to health issues. Im looking to get a new laptop as I often have to be mobile while doing designs. Does anyone have any recommendations for a laptop that is fast and can handle fairly large graphics.
Thanks in advance for the tips!

choucove

For professional design work, I highly recommend the HP EliteBook series of laptops. I have had dozens of customers order these laptops, own one myself, and have never had anything fail on one yet, they are amazing. These laptops are known for having some of the best build quality for business laptops in the industry, and they are built using hardware specifically intended for professional content creation, graphics design, and 3D CAD/Rendering. The good thing here too is that these laptops come in a broad range to fit your budget and intended usage.

I have been so impressed with the HP ProBook and EliteBook series of laptops that it has become almost exclusively what we recommend and sell at Cumulus Computers for laptops and mobile workstations.

Move In Media

Well, there's always the Macbook Pro line, favorite among designers, editors, hipsters. I'm yet to be convinced that one needs to overpay for a design computer, but to each his own. You can actually get some decent used MBPs that are 3-5 years old that should still be powerful enough to run design programs, but you have to be be careful and picky when buying used...