• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Making any money working for someone?

LavelleSign

I have been working in the sign industry for 13 years now as an employee. I have a few of my own side projects. I was curious to if anyone has made any real money as an employee vs. Owning your own place.

Is there a possibility to make 70k or higher just as an employee.

reQ

I have been working in the sign industry for 13 years now as an employee. I have a few of my own side projects. I was curious to if anyone has made any real money as an employee vs. Owning your own place.

That could be very long topic to discuss...

70k as an employee in sign industry? I guess so... if u work for huge corporations such as Pattison for example, and you are working on one of lead management positions. As a fabricator (will call it like that, people who make signs on the floor) i don't think so.

If you will go self employed route, you will discover MANY issues that you would never think of. At the end of the day, thats your decision, do whatever feels right.

P.S. I did leave my employer who was paying me $11.00/hr for design/fabrication/installation + customer service 5 years ago... basically he was able to leave the shop for few weeks and everything would stay functional & profitable. One day i decided that i can't do that anymore, gave him 1 month notice and started my own shop... so far so good.

James Burke

Being a grandpa is more fun than working
Money isn't usually the reason people go into business for themselves. It can't be. And believe me, there will be times when no amount of money will make it seem worth it.

JB

FireSprint.com

Trade Only Screen & Digital Sign Printing