• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Mimaki cjv150-160 half cut

jardine.jason

Hi i just wondering how to use the Mimaki half cut feature. Can just use the original blade and cutting strip that comes with the machine when new or do you have to buy a different blade and cutting strip?

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
You can use any blade but the 60 degree one should work the best. You can also use the standard cut strip but it will wear out quickly so they offer a sponge strip for that purpose. It's hard to describe how to do it but if you YouTube it there should be some videos and also the user manual goes through it although it is hard to understand. At the end of the day I don't know of a lot of people who use that feature at all and I am a tech who installed them for a living. It's not a very polished feature.

You need to set up half cutting on the printer. On the computer you just proceed as you'd do with normal cutting. After 50-100 decals I just bought an old roland cx24 to make half cuts not that the cjv wouldn't do it but I don't want to put too much stress on the mechanic parts.

Judi

Worker Bee
You also need to specify the cut condition when outputting to your RIP. I have CUT1 set up on the printer for contour cutting the vinyl layer and CUT3 with HALF-CUT turned on and higher cut pressure for the perf cut through the backing layer.

SET CUT CONDITION FINECUT TO RASTERLINK.jpg

You also need to specify the cut condition when outputting to your RIP. I have CUT1 set up on the printer for contour cutting the vinyl layer and CUT3 with HALF-CUT turned on and higher cut pressure for the perf cut through the backing layer.

View attachment 135765