• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question Moving channel letters

hcardwell93

I am completely new to channel letters, so I want to put out some feelers about a potential job before I wind up over my head.

My pediatrician is considering moving her practice and they want their sign to go with them. The shield is 1 piece, "Fully Amored Family" is on a Safeway seperate from "Health & Fitness" and her name is on an additional raceway.

Roughly how heavy would each unit be? Is this something 2 guys on ladders can safely remove and install, or is a lift or crane needed?

The electrical aspect is already covered, I'm just not sure of the physical removal and installation of these units.

20170609_105201.jpg

Modern Ink Signs

Premium Subscriber
Ladders!!!!

NO WAY!!!

Why do you feel the need to do this yourself? There are companies out there that do this.

Contact a electric sign guy in your area, to give you a quote moving it, add a few bucks and bang! All done!!

Have a relationship with others in the industry! I personally have a guy I use for stuff like this. We've been working together for 25+ years. Works great!

FYI......
You would need (2) trucks for this. 1 for lifting/lowering and 1 for laborer to remove/install fasteners.

Moze

Precision Sign Services
I would agree - hire it out.

It can easily be done with one truck.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
I sure wouldn't want to do this off of ladders, although it can be done. One bucket and two guys can easily do it. However, if you don't know your way around this kinda stuff, you could mess it up. Then you'd be responsible for getting them to work at the next location.

If you end up doing them, bench test them before you re-instal them.