• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need advice on a big graphic on an interior wall

JJGraphics

A customer of mine is asking me to print a graphic to cover this entire wall and I've never done anything like this before.

The full width of the wall is 28' and the height is 14'

The wall has wallpaper on it now, and some damage spots on it from where the previous tenant had a very big picture as well. (though certainly not a full wall mural) Do I need to worry about the existing wallpaper or just go right over it?

I'm considering a material like General Formulations Wall-Tux which comes in 60" x 100' rolls.

My thought is to print it in 6 14' tall sections with around an inch of overlap then cut the overlap to create a nice seam. I'm going to do my best to keep the seams in the white areas between the big blue dots. I think the whole project will be more forgiving that way.

I would attach the material at the top of the wall, then remove the liner as I work down each section. When I get to the bottom, I would begin the next section.

Any tips or suggestions for me? I'm printing this on a Mimaki solvent printer and I've made plenty of vehicle stickers and yard signs so I'm comfortable with the idea of sticking vinyl to things, just never something this big.

Is there a different way of doing this that would work better than what I'm currently thinking?

As a total newbie to this kind of mural, How long should I expect it to take to install? I'll have 2 people and 2 tall A frame ladders to work from.

Thanks!

Attachments

• conf_rm_wall.jpg
    conf_rm_wall.jpg
    27.5 KB · Views: 88
  • conf_rm_wall-2.jpg
    conf_rm_wall-2.jpg
    58.4 KB · Views: 71

Solid Retail

Wall Mural