• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need help with setting up GCC Jaguar JR-61

artasdmc

Hey.

Im a total noob when it comes to this.
So I bought a used Jaguar JR-61, only got the stand, USB cable and the plotter itself, no accessories, papers, or CD.

I want to use it so I can make words for tombstones.
So how do I start? What programs do I use?
How do I make everything work?

I tried registering this used plotter in GCC club so I can download drivers, applications and whatnot, but it didn't recognize the serial. So all hope is lost.
Contacting them is also pointless, they don't reply. And people say the same when I tried googling.

Good thing there's also a russian GCC site, it let me download the USB drivers for Jaguar II 61 (Which I think is my model).
So I got the USB drivers, now what do I do next? How do I use my PC together with the plotter?
What applications I need to use, and are they free?

James Burke

Being a grandpa is more fun than working
When you say "words for tombstones", I assume you mean cutting thick sandblast stencil for stone cutting. Typically, monument stencil runs anywhere between 22 and 45 mils thick (or in metric terms approximately .5 to 1.1 millimeters thick).

We do stone and monument engraving, and to be honest, your plotter is not suited for cutting stencil.

You need a sprocket-fed plotter with a tangential cutting head. In other words, your plotter will utilize punched-edge stencil material and will need to have a cutting head that swivels under power around corners, or picks up the cutting head and then swivels before dropping back down into the material to continue cutting.