• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Suggestions need suggestions on walnut sign

ronnierozier2

hello all! First post here. I am relatively new at sign making and looking for suggestions and advice on making this sign look good. I have been asked to carve a 20"x50" sign from Solid Walnut. Attached is a small carving I did on the CNC on a scrap piece of walnut to show the customer what the larger sign would look like. see attached image Sample Carving.jpeg

The customer loves the walnut but was curious what my plan is to make the letters pop so they can been seen. Can some of you professionals suggest some ideas on how to finish this sign please. Any and all suggestions are appreciated

Gino

Premium Subscriber
It's called paint. Prior planning will determine what gets what color. Ask you customer, if they have any preferances. Then, figure out the balance from there and offer suggestions.

visual800

I would paint the faces of the lettering a light beige, it would stand out without being intrusive

Last edited:

fixtureman

I think I would do inset the letters about 1/16 to register insert letters out of a light color wood like maple. That would keep it all wood and really stand out. If you intend to paint I would paint the piece first and then route it.

Johnny Best

This must be going into an office environment. I would use a darker stain on the copy and leave the background as is and use good varnish, or two part clear over the entire thing. I prefer Tung oil over varnish finishes.

Rick

Certified Enneadecagon Designer
Like mentioned before, inset the lettering and paint or

I get having a single piece of wood and routing it, but tool marks are not all that pleasing.

I would use a walnut backer
Frame in walnut