• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New Guy New to everything, hopefully not for long.

Best quality small format printer

• Roland

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Mimaki

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • Mutoh

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Orion_c

Hey signs101!

I'm an engineer working a 9-5, and i'm new to the signs industry, but I have ideas and I hope to be in the business soon. I've just been lurking for now, and reading up a lot of different topics. Unfortunately what I want to make requires a lot of expensive equipment and it's hard to start small with cheaper hobby grade equipment because of quality.

My goal is to start a business making trinkets for businesses. After a lot of research, I would need a laser cutter and a UV flatbed printer.

Hopefully within the year, I can take the plunge and buy what I need. I've been looking at various uv printers (mimaki, mutoh, roland) and laser cutters(epilog, trotec, fsl, boss) to compare, quality of prints, cutting time, printing time, ink cost per product to get an estimate to see if it's a viable business.

I'm here to learn, and hopefully everything works out and I can contribute soon.

Glad to meet you :)

PS - If you have experience with any of the brands above (or other brands you think are better) for a Small format UV printer/Laser cutter, I'd be glad to pick your brain.
I have a few questions on print application onto materials such as wood/acrylic and if they need to be treated? And what makes a printer have great resolution/quality?

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
Welcome! I can't help you with the laser cutting stuff but the owner of this forum also runs a CNC forum so hopefully some of the new members he brought over can help with that.