• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New to industry: Need clarification on print/cut machine advice from Roland dealer.

mc3customcoolers

We make custom ice chests out of steel drums
Hello, I have a startup that creates custom ice coolers. FB & instagram mc3customcoolers
We use multi color decals on our products; avg size decal is 10"H x 14"W.

I spoke with a Roland dealer today about purchasing a BN-20, & he highly recommended not to purchase that model for 2 reasons.
1. It clogs up frequently, using more ink. 2. The vinyl paper is unique 20" roll so it can only be purchased from Roland.

He explained that the 30" Versacamm SP-300i would fit our decal needs and save us $ on vinyl paper and ink troubles.

I have no experience in this field, so I was hoping to reach out and confirm what this dealer is saying. I'd appreciate any feedback, thank you.

SignMeUpGraphics

Super Active Member
Most suppliers will be able to slit a larger roll down into 20" portions for you, so that's a non-issue.
Not heard of the BN-20 clogging up any more than other machines unless they're not getting frequent use.
They share the same DX6 head and inks as the RE/RF/VS/XF/XR printers so it sounds more like an upsell.

That being said, if you ever think you'll need to print larger than 19" wide, have a good think about a wider machine.
They will print faster and lead to larger jobs. We initially were going to go the BN-20 and ended up with a VS-540.
Paid the entire machine off in <12 months due to the amount of jobs we didn't have to knock back.

Rick

Certified Enneadecagon Designer
I don't have an answer for you but, unless you have permission to slap team logos on your product, don't be surprised if you get a cease and desist from a lawyer... or worse...

GaSouthpaw