• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Newbie deciding when to take a leap

MOXYGRL37

I’m new in the signage space and have been running a side hustle designing &photography for a while now. Most of my vinyl designs are just cut solids using a graphtec. I’m definitely limited by not being able to print (the laser and inkjet materials definitely just don’t cut it for what I’m looking for.)

I visited Mimaki last week and trying to decide when is a good time to take a leap and invest in a printer. I’m torn with making a big investment to grow my signage business into my full time gig while still working my full time job. I can afford to manage the payments, but it’s a scary leap to invest in a printer that’s basically the price of a new car lol.

At what point have you all made the big step to grow your side businesses into your full time business?

Texas_Signmaker

Very Active Signmaker
It doesnt have to be all or nothing. Using a company like Signs365 can be the step between buying a printer. I'm doing 300k a year from home and STILL outsource

kcollinsdesign

Old member
You will know when it is time to make the leap when you are selling $10k plus/month of printing. Out source until then. It is quite likely you will continue to out source even then.

Nanci

I’m new in the signage space and have been running a side hustle designing &photography for a while now. Most of my vinyl designs are just cut solids using a graphtec. I’m definitely limited by not being able to print (the laser and inkjet materials definitely just don’t cut it for what I’m looking for.)