• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

newbie question about transparent base saving a doomed project...

UltraHIVE

hey all, im a newbie at screenprinting. i do small runs of tshirts here and there for swap meet events now and again. i make my own frames from poplar, Diazio emulsion, and use a variety of mesh.

i recently screenprinted a 2 color job, white and yellow on black, Hanes 50 / 50. i print using water based materials due to my setup at home and conditions of space that i have to keep frames. i used Plastisol opaque white, and Speedball Process yellow for this print. i mixed the process yellow with some opaque white to strengthen the yellow, but i think thats where something went wrong.

for this print i flashed the white with a heat gun as i normally do, then apply the yellow in 2 coats, flashing the first, and the last coat. i then let the shirts dry for 24 hours. i do this normally with every project and the results work for me. after 24 hours i washed 1 to see whats up. all the yellow washed out, ALL of it, not even a hint that it was ever on the shirt.. :doh:

i have 19 shirts left with this pending doom feeling that all the yellow will wash out. heres my quesion.... can i apply transparent base over the yellow, even by hand with a paint brush, and will it protect the yellow from washing out? does it act like a sealant, if not what should i use? how can i save these shirts?

any help would be great.. thanks.

:rock-n-roll:

Mosh

Why not just hand paint the shirts? You need to use opaque inks, like wilflex athelic yellow, through 60 mesh screen, no need for two layers (that is the problem).
Be sure the reach 420 degrees.