• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Old metal sign restoration: method, materials, how much to charge

nolanola

Hello.
My friends from a local machine shop are moving to a new location and their sign is moving with them also.
They want me to give them a quote for taking the sign down, renewing it (cleaning, refreshing paint) and installing it at the new place.
Its double sided now, but at the new place it will hang on a wall, so only one side has to be restored.
The sign is approximately 8 feet wide and 5 feet tall.

First, I offered them to sandblast the sign, prime it and paint it. But they said they do not want to go so "fundamentally".

I was thinking cleaning with scotch brite and painting over it with one shot.

I have no experience with that type of jobs so far.

Please let me know what you think: the right way to do it and how much I should charge for it.

Thank you.

attachment.php

Attachments

• 2121.jpg
    2121.jpg
    129.5 KB · Views: 4,066

Billct2

First, that is a really nice classic sign, bordering on antique status.
Repainting it would be a shame.
For the close to the same money as ruining that sign you could you could make a new single face sign that copies that design.
Then (though they sound too cheap to do it) have new neon made for it and mount it as a showpiece inside there new
facility.

DirtyD

If your restoring it, are you thinking new neon as well?

Removal - Hourly x number of men
Sand/prep/paint etc. - Hourly plus materials markup
Neon and transformers - markup + production time
Install - Hourly x number of men

Plus any other misc.

nolanola

Thank you for the replies.
I am sure the sign has a value of an antique sign.
The shop has been found in 1961. I assume it is when the sign has been built.