• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

One shot paint

qmr55

Hey guys I am getting ready to paint a helmet and looking for my best options. Using a smaller hvlp spray gun.

Can I use one shot with reducer to thin it out some? I am doing special colors so I don't want to have to buy quarts of paint just to do a helmet and one shot comes in small cans so I figured it'd be perfect.

So what I'm really asking, is one shot my best option? Can I reduce it?

Thanks!!

dolce05

i used to be a big airbrush artist with one shot.. If your doing a helmet with one shot. First you want to prep surface correctly. Second you use reducer to thin the paint and add a dash of one shot hardner. This will make the paint cure better and if you (I hope you will) clear coat the finished product, the hardner will keep the paint from reacting to the clear. Otherwise the clear acts like a thinner on the paint and will make it lift and peel. plus with hardner you can then mask over the layers of graphics without leaving track marks.

and the best piece of advise I have for you take the time to test all this on a scrap piece of aluminum before ruining a customers helmet. Best of luck

Chris Dolce

qmr55

Thank you guys! Got some good ideas, ordered some more paint tonight and can't wait to get it started!

Keep the info coming I'll read it all!!!

g&eprinting

I use one shot and auto air colors.

Use auto air colors if you are new to this. Much easier to work with.

Buy an airbrush too. You will love it.

Jillbeans

I'd be quite reluctant to use 1S, it has let me down so often.
Especially if you need a clearcoat, I'd be terrified of orange peel.
Have you tried Hot Hues? What about HOK?
Or Createx?
Love....Jill

Arlo Kalon 2.0