• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question Perforated Window Film For The Unexperienced

SignShopGal

SignShopGal
Hello,

So, I have been reading, watching some videos, but I still have some general questions and I know the experts here have amazing brains filled with helpful knowledge about this type of sign making. I do make signs, I have plenty of vinyl experience, large format printed signs.

I have never printed on a perforated window film. We do have a Roland SP540-v, using ECO-SOL MAX. The window graphic my company wants me to try to do is going to be placed on our business building, 10'x 6' size on the biggest and 3'x10' on the others.

Where is a good place to start? Can I use my eco sol inks on a perf film? Am I crazy to do this? Should I hire out?

What I think I need (I claim to know very little):
-80/20 perf film
-uv overlam
-edge sealer
-heat gun
?-squeegee (dont know what type, hardness etc-I have hard plastic)
?-roller (I use brayers to apply flat sign graphics & vinyl
addition:
-ladder
-2 strapping tall men, dark, handsome

Thank you for your help!
-Sign Shop Gal

floater302

I print alot of 50/50, yes laminate it i never seal the edge for the reason it wont be up over a year in must applications. and depending how much light you want in or how much you want to see out for the 80/20

oksigns

you need to ask yourself how long you want this to last.

no need for a heat gun...

do you have a rep you can talk to from a local supplier? those are always good local resources and glean samples from.

you also need to be mindful of surface temperatures.

oh.. there is a technique. while perf is forgiving, especially laminated, handling larger panels can be a pain if you don't have good technique and a helper.

KSTrooper