• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New Guy Print/cut machine for heavy wraps

HighlandSigns

Hello everyone I'm totally green to the printing side of the sign business. I've been running a small cut-vinyl sign business since 1995. We're in a small isolated community with limited room for expansion, so I've resisted my thoughts of buying a printer and have stuck with cut vinyl, but I think the time has come. I've looked at the HP latex machines (the 115 I'm on a budget), on sale at Grimco until May 1st. Then I was able to get a similar deal on a factory reconditioned VP540i. The place I'd buy the Roland has better support, and the program is a more familiar environment to the Signlab cutting program we've been using for 20+ years. I'm thinking to go with the Roland.

My question is about wraps. I've been reading here and I know it's been tossed about in other threads but many of them are 10+ years old, and may not be relevant anymore. Snowmobile wraps would be an easy and significant place for me to expand, as I have an extremely large circle of snowmobile friends. I want to produce nice heavy thick wraps like sledwraps.com. Can I cut that thick stuff with a VP540i, and a Rite-media 55" cold laminator?

Thanks!

Malkin

I have had marginal success using our VP540 to cut motocross graphics that were 12 mil lam and 4 (or 6?) mil vinyl. I would use a fresh 60 deg. blade from Clean Cut, and the pressure was near to or at the top limit. After 2-3 kits the knife would become too dull. And sometimes the results were less than perfect or predictable.

I don't know how tough sled wrap graphics are supposed to be, but if they are likely to be easier or harder compared to what I described, then you have your answer.

Jburns