• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Printer for stickers/decals

hazelsmrf

Hi everyone, I signed up to hopefully get some opinions or advice on equipment for decals. I'm a graphic designer, and for the past year I've been selling my stickers online. So far my setup has been pretty basic, no large format printing, I have a standard Brother inkjet printer that I print on weather resistant vinyl, and then cut out on a craft grade cutter (Klic-n-Kut Zing). This works but it's incredibly time consuming and requires a ton of manual work. Printing out an 11X17 sheet on my printer, cutting it out on the cutter, rince and repeat 100 times. Time for something that I can "set and forget" and don't have to constantly babysit! As of right now with my limited setup I am making about 2000$ per month. So, not huge amounts but this is an amount that I could easily double or triple if I had a more automated system in place.

My options as I see it, would be a wide format printer and separate cutter, or a print & cut all in one. I understand that a lot of people don't recommend the print & cut as when it is cutting you aren't printing. I am not sure that would be a big issue for me, I do not have print shop volumes. Also space is a factor, I work at home out of my home office, I have a dedicated room but there is no way I would be able to have a 50+ inch printer (nor do I have any reason to want one). A 15-30 inch would suit me just fine. Also due to space constraints, the print & cut models seem very attractive!