• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Printing eco solvent Wall mural in my son's bedroom. Need Advice

Signturesigns

Hi guys - A newbie to the group sorry for the no brainer question here...
I am going to print and install a wall mural on 3m 40c vinyl on my Roland printer in my 2 year old's bedroom. I am concerned about outgas and fumes strong in his room after installing it. How long should I wait to mount it after I print each panel?

Should I let it sit for a day or 2? I have a cold laminator but I have zero experience with it . Do i need to laminate?
Also, any recommendations on where to find artwork for the little Einstein's? I was going to build myself but I wasn't sure how large I scale up the artboard as I create it. The largest file available online for a jungle background I've found is
14.4" x 10.1" @300dpi and my son's wall is 10'x9' any advice?

You can print on any matte vinyl really, just make sure you leave a 1/4 overlay as the vinyl will shrink. Let is sit for 24h before cutting off the edges otherwise it may curl up. Finding the right image is the real challenge you'll need at least 100 dpi to have an acceptable quality and I'm pretty sure you'll not find one online. If I were you I'd buy the whole wallpaper online - it'll be probably cheaper than the ink itself you'd use.

ikarasu

Hospitals are limiting the amount of ecosolvent allowed in their buildings because eco-solvent inks been found to cause problems in developing children.

Its something crazy stupid like a few ft. Now does that mean you can't do it and your kid would be fine? I doubt it'd really harm your kid... But just for a wall mural, I wouldn't risk it.