• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Printing on practical board or mdf...

HA

Hello from a newbie.

I have this real crazy idea of printing on particle board on a large scale. We are already in the business of supplying components to a certain industry and this would be a natural direction.

I have no experience with digital printing but I'm trying to get up to speed as quickly as possible.

I need a flatbed, 4x8.

I need CYMK plus white plus lacquer or possibly three lacquer.

This will be a production level machine in a factory.

UV inks. Approx...360x720dpi

UV fade resistance is critical

So far, I hate to say this, but the sales people are trying to pull me wherever their interest may. Nothing surprising there, but pretty annoying. Worse, when I ask questions that I already know the answer, a few of them have no problem twisting the facts.

Forget them...i need help...so

1.....is there any flatbed that is above the rest?

2....is Ricoh one of the tougher and more reliable print heads?

3...can I lay down a 2-3 thou clear coat? One salesman says yes, the other no....and if I am going to cut down on labor, I can not take these components off line to spray coat them.

4.....i spoke with a chemist from one of the largest paint manufacturers. His advice was to go with 15-20 picoliter heads in order to use inks with thicker particles. Then go with even larger picoliter printhead to lay down the lacquer. Of course the salespeople are arguing their inks are Gods creation and a senior chemist with one of the largest paint suppliers on the planet doesn't know what he's talking about. I'm almost 100% on who is right...but....i can be surprised.

Good grief...i have a million questions.....but let's start with these.