• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Problems laminating UV Prints

Dr. Decal

Hello Everybody,

I have run into a bit of a problem and will try to explain the best I can. I am working on a large box truck wrap for our company's paper supplier.
Our printer has been having terrible problems printing solids and is under an active call with Roland and no progress has been made. (*not why I'm here)
The paper company had the wrap printed for me at their headquarters with a Mimaki UV printer on Avery MPI1105 SuperCast EZRS . I am only familiar with Roland Eco-Solvent prints and this is my first time working with UV. They did not have a laminator, so they sent the printed wrap to me for lamination (Avery DOL1460Z) and installation.
I have a pretty low quality laminator to work with myself (employee not owner). After laminating the first print, I noticed anywhere I touched the material left a permanent fingerprint or pressure marks. It appears to have left a lot of air underneath the laminate which I assumed was too light of pressure from the laminator. The laminator we have here, has no form of pressure adjustments.
Our print equipment supplier is nearby, and had a floor model of an Emblem Expert 140C Laminator. They agreed to let me demo the laminator by having me run this job through their floor model. The heavier pressure I was able to apply was much better than my first attempt. However, you could still see faint finger prints and marks anywhere the print is touched. The fingerprints can't be squeegeed or cleaned away that I can tell.
The second printer was not heat assisted, and I am thinking that heat assistance is necessary for UV printed panels. Just trying to figure out what is going on here and the best solution.

TL;DR