• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Roland SP-540V "not connecting" to Versaworks

bnosanchuk

Complete newbie to the large print world. My company recently purchased a used SP-540V and put me in charge of setting it up and figuring out how to use it. Once we connected the proper crossover cable to both the printer and the computer, they seemed to begin to communicate. I installed the Versaworks disc included which was 2.21. I was then prompted to download the updates; there seemed to be 2 phases to bring me to the current version 4(?) Each time though VersaWorks said that the printer was "not connected." Now anytime I open Versaworks the printer settings dialogue box asks me for the TCP/IP(T); IP Address (I).......

This seems to be my wall. I've entered my computer's IP address, I've entered my computer's IP address with slight adjustments to the last digit, I've entered our company's network IP address (even though it's connected directly to my local computer, not our router) and I get the "device not found/connected" message. I've navigated through the menu settings on the printer hoping to find a possible printer IP address, but nothing.

What am I over looking or not doing correctly? Thank you.

Stormyj

Just another guy
What these guys said. Install that printserver nettool, and it will locate the ip address of the printer. enter that ip address into versaworks and it should be good to go.

Last edited:

bnosanchuk

What these guys said. Install that printserver nettool, and it will locate the ip address of the printer. enter that ip address into versaworks and it should be good to go.