• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question Scale of Artwork for a Window Display

Denaeus

I am an illustrator and used to small scale works, but I am getting into larger pieces. I am creating a
sign to be used for a window display. I am not sure what size I should create my illustrator artwork that the enlarged window sign will look okay. The final window sign will be 8' x 3'. What dimensions should I use for my Illustrator ai file and an additional PDF?

Last edited:

Rick

Certified Enneadecagon Designer
I may be misunderstanding your question... are you talking about working in scale or resolution?

For scale:
This is where Corel - right out of the box - beats Illustrator. Corel has scale tools where you can design in scale and call out your measurements.

I use Illustrator, but I have CadTools (www.hotdoor.com) so I can work in scale. Cadtools is far more superior to Corel's stock cad/scale tools, but might be overkill for your needs... it ain't cheap either.

Before Cadtools was around and I was forced to use Illustrator, I would make my design at full size - then scale it down 8.33333% to make it 1" = 1' - 0" - or half size and scale it down 16.666% - then scale down accordingly to fit the page and an architectural ruler for client and city review. Then size it up for reproduction.

TammieH

Its easier to design in full scale if possible, given Illustrator's limitations...if you need to show a proof, reduce it to a standard page size for the customer, add measurements for fonts....etc.

GaSouthpaw

Profane and profane accessories.
I agree- it's best to work full-sized. Of course, Illustrator bones you there with a max of just under 19'.