• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Sewing a banner Hem

broadcast

So far, I have sub-contracted out all my banner substrates. I want to begin sewing my own. Do I need a special machine to sew the material, or can I use a regular sewing machine? What type of thread do I need? Any techniques I should know? What are the pros/cons of using the tape versus sewing? Thanks for any help!

GB2

Old Member
Personally I don't care, but a lot of people like to get a warm fuzzy feeling first so you may get more answers if you do something like this first...Hi, my name is xyz, I like cats and dogs, I'm in this business just to be your new best friend, I charge high prices and I'm not a low-baller and I have tons of software and equipment and I'm an expert in it's use!...

CheapVehicleWrap

Welcome!

Research industrial sewing machines, Maybe try eBay before they too go under (don't think it wasn't in the business plan from the get go).

Bly

Personally I don't care, but a lot of people like to get a warm fuzzy feeling first so you may get more answers if you do something like this first...Hi, my name is xyz, I like cats and dogs, I'm in this business just to be your new best friend, I charge high prices and I'm not a low-baller and I have tons of software and equipment and I'm an expert in it's use!...

Haha you hit the nail on the head there GB2..

Personally I use banner tape.

Mosh

You need a commercial machine. You will wreck your mom's if you try using it. Looks better tham the beginners using banner tape.

saktrnch

Welcome from Wisconsin.

It doesn't take much to poke a hole in a banner. You will hem tons of banners with a $200 wal mart machine. It is better though if you can use a double needle.

cdiesel