• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

SP-300V Ink Usage

Signfathers

I am printing a vehicle wrap for my Honda element.This is my first time printing a wrap.Im going threw ink pretty fast.Is this normal?i have the 220 cc cartridges.I have printed one side of the suv, hood, and tail and have used one and a half cartridge of each color.Is this normal?That around $420 in ink so far and im not done..

Signfathers

ive printed 3 panels each one is 6' by 28" hood and rear so far its 84 square feet.plus i have to keep a fan on the print as it comes off..it is real wet

nwbee

It should be wet like that and also thats costing you $5 per square foot just for the ink. Although 3 x 72"x28" is only 42 square feet which is $10 per square foot. Something is def wrong but I can't tell you what it is. Are you using versaworks? If so, try just regular glossy calendar vinyl setting since it will be laminated anyway see if the quality and ink is the same. Just a suggestion.

nwbee

Sorry I meant that it SHOULDN'T be wet like that. It will be a little wet but should lose the wet look in less than a couple of mins.

MikesSigns

Check your profiles in VW, I think color may be set up as Max? Try a US Pre Press or Sign and Display. Definitely something not right, With heaters going you should be sticky but not real wet. I think my cost for a full colored sq ft. is around 18 cents. Good Luck

Signfathers