• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

SP540 is not printing any color.

It was printing just fine, then started printing fuzzy then clear up and back to fuzzy. Cleaned everything, rebooted computer and printer and tried again same issue. A friend told me to check the ribbon cable. I carefully unplugged the ribbon cable and plugged it in. Now it is not printing any color but is making the motions as if it's printing.

anozira02

Check see if the drain tubes clogged and see if the dampers have enough ink should be half full or so, did you do a pump check, test print?

phototec

I'm no expert but have followed many threads on the SP-540, and I know that doing any thing like what you did, you first have to UNPLUG the machine and and make sure you have discharged any static from your body before touching any sensitive components near the print head. Because you can blow a fuse on the head board if you are not careful.

Another thing, if you unplug the ribbon cable, make sure you installed it correctly, check to see if any of the leads are bent and not making contact.

You may need to check the fuse, I have not done this, but know if you don't have continuity across the fuse, then you blew it. The fuse is a very small surface mount component, however it is something that many have replaced them selves (if you know how to solder). One other tip I have read about, don't use the same small fuse going back, but replace it with a fuse holder and that way you can change fuses easier in the future.

Good luck

FrankW

if all colours are dead after unplugging cables without unplugging the printer from the power source I agree with the idea to check the fuses.