• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Startup Business QUESTIONS?!

Little bit about my background. I have been an artist my whole life and received a degree in graphic design. After college got a job at a print production shop. Left that job for a real design job at a vehicle wrap and sign business. The shop was literally starting from the ground up. Taught myself how to use the shops Roland xr-640, how to design vehicle wraps and print them. Ended up becoming lead designer and project manager. However after a year of basically running a shop(accounting, sales, design, printing, managing), I still found myself wanting more. For one, I wasn't making enough money(like all small print shops the employees dont make much) and I new I could do better. I literally can do everything but wrap a vehicle(which I plan on learning).

Which brings me too today. Im looking at opening my own vehicle wrap sign shop. Specifically though vehicle wraps(I have seen alot of bad designs).

Question:
1. Am i jumping the gun? Is there anything more that I need to learn before opening a shop?
2. How easy is it to transition from roland equipment to HP?(tired of waiting for outgassing)
3. Can I lease a HP latex 330, laminator, plotter with 15-20k budget?

Last edited:

TXFB.INS

there are plenty of Merchant Vendors here that sale at a discounted price. instead of sicking you budget into the needed equipment (printer, lamination machine, plotter, etc...) focus on marketing, getting your name out and this will allow more time to sale and design. you get the material in then you stick it.

this coming from the guy still at work getting the printer ready for a run......

rossmosh

My opinion is: