• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Stretching vinyl while applying to corrugated plastic.

tposey24

I am new to signmaking and was more or less thrown into it when the person who handled our large format printing quit with no notice. I have a general knowledge of how to run the equipment but lately I have been struggling with applying heavily inked vinyl to our corrugated plastic signs. We have a mutoh valujet 1304 (i think) and i am printing on orajet material. I am only having trouble with the heavily saturated spots. When the backing is removed, the vinyl stretches, thus leaving LOTS of wrinkles and skewed art. Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated.

gabagoo

you could try premasking the first 6" of the print that goes into the laminator to give it some thickness.

I really like printing on the proveer house brand (true stock, but really Avery) with the grey adhesive for just that purpose. The stuff is very rigid when peeling back the liner, even on heavy ink.

matrue

I agree

I would always laminate or use tranfer tape when applying the graphics. It adds rigidity to the print.

Bigdawg

Just Me
If the print is stretchy, lots of time you'll see the line where the transfer tape was if you put a strip on to start the application. It works, but if the print is giving you stretch problems already, then you'll have 6" unstretched vinyl and then the same current problems on the rest of the sign.

We rarely (I'm trying to think of when we have) laminate corrugated signs and most of our prints are full coverage. What Orajet material are you using? I'd highly recommend switching over to 3165RA first of all for coro. The air release can become your best friend.