• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Thicker removable Vinyl or best way to "thicken" existing vinyl?

tpinc

We have a specific product that has historically been magnetic, however we are finding a number of our customers now have alloy or plastic components that magnets don't stick to.

As an effort to find solutions (we dabbled with suction cup technology among others), the best solution seems to be removable vinyl signs.

We've had great luck with the Oracal 631 and Orajet 3621 doing exactly what we want, but they deform too easily when they are removed (and sequentially reused). About 2 years ago I started playing with technologies and had great luck sandwiching the removable vinyl with fiberglass netting above it, and then a top layer of vinyl to secure the fiberglass "sandwich". It worked amazingly well short term, so well that I thought i had just invented a new medium that was amazing, however over a not-so-long time period it began to lose its durability and the two materials would separate (even though the same two would not if directly layered over eachother only).

I've thought about revisiting the same thing but with an extremely adherent top layer vinyl (any recommendations if I go this route?) however, I would love to know if anyone has any other ideas for "thickening" or "strengthening" the vinyl?

Does it make sense to just layer a bunch on top of eachother? Or does someone make a thicker removable adhesive vinyl? OR are there any other solutions which have been tried and work to get this effect?

jfiscus

Rap Master