• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Vandal Guard anti-graffiti laminate issues

D&D Graphx

D&D Graphx Modesto, CA
Anyone have issues with this Vandal Guard anti-graffiti laminate. It seams to be shrinking and pulling the the vinyl as it sits on the table. It has even lifted and then shrunk and left a crease that will not go away. I printed with a Roland 540 and laminated with minimal tension on a Royal laminator. This is for flat windows nothing special but job is a total loss at this point. I have been doing this for 11 years and never seen this before. Is there a better anti-graffiti film out there.

Here is a photo. FullSizeR (1).jpg

The SignChef

We used Vandal Guard for quite awhile, without incident. A few months ago, we had similar issues with the anti-graffiti laminate, delaminating from the prints. We called the company. They sent new rolls, with new lot numbers, in case it was a bad batch. And we had still had the same issues, with the new lot numbers. The whole incident ended up costing us over $3,000 in time and materials I couldn't recoup.

Vandal Guard products have been permanently eliminated from our business.

We switched to Ritrama's specialty laminates and are quite pleased with the quality and results so far.

printhog

Make sure your laminate and print base are matched components. Each film has different expansion / contraction properties. Tunneling usually occurs when the substrate is a calendered film and the laminate is a cast or dimensionally stable film.