• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

vicious cycle (Mutoh Faclon Outdoor 48) ink priming and nozzle loss

printmares

vicious cycle (Mutoh Falcon Outdoor 48) ink priming and nozzle loss

Does anyone have a solution for the following Mutoh issue(s)? Any help would be much appreciated! I've been working these issues for the past 2 months, reading and working through many of the basic steps found here at sings101.

Problem: Repeatedly losing and re-obtaining nozzles. After priming the system from the new dampers and also the maintenance station waste tubes most of the nozzles return. The heads were adjusted while attempting to align them. Most of the nozzles, then, vanished. Priming left head through waste tubes worked. Right side remains stuck (ie no ink flow, syringe plunger will not pull any ink through the maintenance station.) Cleaning cycles provide no improvement.

Given:
-New Eco-Ultra CMYKLcLm solvent ink (type that causes sponges to exapand)
-replaced waste tubes
-disassembled peristaltic pump. Tubes appeared functional. Black ink spot was found on tube inside of pump, next to cam which will cause a different catastrophe in near future.
-cleaned matenance station caps and tubing.

Possible Suspects:
-pump cam position maybe stopping ink flow to waste station.
-ink flow may be stopped at a port in the maintenance station cap.
-original ink flow restrictions caused at ink cartridge pins (no error messages, though)
-pushing maintenance station to far right detent position to allow ink flow from heads into caps does not release the right head. (mechanisms for this are unknown!!)
-Mutoh Gremlins who live and operate in the motherboard containment area. Head Rank Gremlin may also exist.

Last edited:

printmares