• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Vinyl wrinkles in Daige Solo Laminator Help?

Krittah

Hoping someone can tell me the trick I'm missing. I'm new to laminating, but I'm only using the Daige Solo to apply Oracal HT55 transfer tape to my Oracal 631 vinyl. I've used a big squeegee for years, works great, but want to expand to 48" rolls and eventually latex print material as well. So I'm hoping to get this laminator working for me to easily jump into wider roll production. Currently only have a 24 inch premask on laminator.

Here's the problem, the vinyl keeps getting wrinkled. It starts well, but wrinkles sometimes after a few feet and I do a lot of 10-15 ft lengths.

There doesn't seem to be many tutorials out there for just applying premask with a laminator. I feel like it should be simpler than laminating, but maybe not.

So what's the trick to get the vinyl to stay flat and smooth will laminating? I'm guessing something to do with the tension on the front media roller?

CarNate69