• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

VS 540 vs. Mimaki JV33 vs. Summa DC4 for motocross graphics

Coban

I've been doing research now for a few months on what machine upgrade we should do here at the shop. We mainly print motocross decal kits and have been using a Gerber Edge (we have had two die on us and are kind of over the edge) and have been out sourcing our larger stuff. There are three options we are considering:

1. Roland VS540
2. Mimaki JV33 130
3. Summa DC4 (SX)

This three all have metallic printing available, which is a must. There are obviously pros and cons to each machine and print quality is very important. Any feedback from fellow users would be great.

2B

Since metallic is a must the Summa is going to be the better option.

We have a VS 640 with metallic and the metallic is no where near the same as the Summa

Coban

The Summa seems like a good fit but the lack of information about them scares me a bit. Anyone have experience with them? How is there cutting thick material?

FrankW

The Summa seems like a good fit but the lack of information about them scares me a bit. Anyone have experience with them? How is there cutting thick material?

The cutting engine integrated into the DC4 is the same as the SummaCUT, except the feed system. So max. 400g and different knife types are available.