• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Wages?

trichosirius

Hi guys, I'm curious about what I can expect to make in this field. I'm fairly new at this, but wondering what the future could hold.

I currently work for a company that has decided to branch out into the sign business and I've taken on the job of running the CNC router, along with my other duties.

In the year that I've been doing this I've become fairly competent at creating dimensional signs, mostly of HDU. I of course have much to learn, but so far customers have been happy and I'm having a blast learning this trade.

So far I'm designing and creating the jobs for the router, operating it, fabricating, painting and installing the signs. I haven't had any training, but I've learned so much just by hanging out in the background around here.

I love this work and get paid a decent enough wage considering the minimal income this new venture is bringing in, but I have a feeling my boss is going to cut his losses and sell this equipment off, leaving me with a wasted set of skills.
I'm considering bringing my resume to local shops, but I'm having a hard time finding what average wages look like in my area.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Don't know what your other duties are ??

Anyway, can you design your jobs ??
Do you understand sign theory ??
Do you know the fundelmentals ??
In other words....... other than pushing a button and putting some substrate on the proper X-Y, what can you do, in your new found job ??

Honestly, if a shop doesn't have a CNC, you just narrowed your possibilities quite a bit, along with your salary.

trichosirius

Don't know what your other duties are ??

Anyway, can you design your jobs ??
Do you understand sign theory ??
Do you know the fundelmentals ??