• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

What do you think about this start up idea??

signsovernite

Hi Guys NJ Newbie here! Thanks for all your GREAT posts they are beyond helpful! I've been working for a sign company for over 9 years now and I am doing research to find out if I can be profitable going into business for myself. I have a bachelor's in Graphic Design plus years of production, installation, sales, management and equipment maintenance experience. The problem is funding... I have about 20K saved up to start and a possible 30-35k from my business partner.

From reading past threads I've learned from you guys that is is better to sub out digital work until I have a substantial customer base. I am worried about quality control when I think about subbing out my stuff though.

What do you guys think about asking a local sign shop if I can pay them a percentage of my earnings (commission) or a flat dollar amount rate for using their shop and equipment on off hours? Do you think this is a better idea than subbing? If so which would you prefer? A flat rate or percentage? If i asked one of you use your shop on off hours how would you feel about that and how much would you expect to be paid?

Thank you tons!!!

- Emma

Billct2

Sorry, but I'd :ROFLMAO: if you asked me to use my place when I'm not here.
There is nothing wrong with buying wholesale, just find a reliable supplier or two or 3.
You just have to build the turnaround time into your quote.

2B

If you asked us no would not happen, its our equipment, our settings, and for you to come and start "adjusting" to get your products.... who is to say you know enough to make the changes and then change them back to what we had them.