• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

What is the difference bet. HPGL and GPGL?

Geminis076

Hi, I've upgraded my Master Tiger 1000 machine for a Graphtec CE 5000-60 cutter, which is being delivered today. I have no prior Graphtec experience, so reading up on a few things and hopefully I won't bombard the forum with questions once I have the machine set-up, want things to go smoothly!

I'm seeing HPGL and GPGL a lot in posts, other than:

HPGL = Hewlett Packard Graphic Language
GPGL = Graphtec Plotter Graphic Language

I don't really know what this is or why you would use one over the other? If it's not too much trouble I'm wondering if someone can tell what each is for or when / why they would be used? My computer is running Windows XP.

I will only be using my machine to cut Oracal 651 vinyl, and nothing else such as specialty vinyl. Not sure if this machine can print, been reading things about the "optical eye", doesn't sound like something I will be using, if it can print I don't plan to print, just cut.

Thanks in advance!

HPGL is more widely supported in various software programs (Flexi, Signlab). GPGL is used in software OEM'd by Graphtec (FineCut for example). I'd set it up for HPGL and forget it.

Tel

The 5000-60 cutter does not print, also if using anything but the graphtec software use HPGL i.e. flexi and signlab etc, but if using the graphtec software use GPGL. I assume as you was using a differnet make of cutter before you will not be using the Graphtec software so set up for HPGL. The optical eyes refered to can be the ones for detecting width etc or for registration marks to cut to a print done on a printer.