• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

What printer to get Epson or HP

funnyb0nz

I am looking into getting a printer to print vehicle wraps, and arcade graphics. This is more of a hobby/toy for me not a business. I am looking at an Epson SureColor S70670 and HP Design Jet L26500 Latex. They are both previously owned and work great. What should be looking at before purchasing? They both say they can print on Vinyl, however how do you find out what thickness of material they can print on? And also what is the typical thickness of Vinyl for arcade vinyl and vehicle wraps?
I am new to the printing market, also price on these are between 2k and 5K does that seam about right? Looking for the expertise in this forum, do guide me down the correct path. Thanks in advance for your time and answers!

CanuckSigns

The latex machine is no longer supported by HP, which means finding inks and print heads is going to be very difficult in the near future.

The generation of Epson machines you are looking at don't have the best reputation, the newer ones are awesome machines, but the older ones, not so much.

Have you considered either partnering with a wholesale printer or a local shop? I know if you walked into my shop I would be willing to barter some printing in exchange for a cool arcade machine!

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Most vinyls will be between 2mil and 4 mil for what you are asking.

As for the cost, that seems super cheap. I'd be a little careful.

funnyb0nz

The latex machine is no longer supported by HP, which means finding inks and print heads is going to be very difficult in the near future.

The generation of Epson machines you are looking at don't have the best reputation, the newer ones are awesome machines, but the older ones, not so much.