• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question Which forum would be appropriate for this type of question?

gwizah

Hello,

I was wondering which forum would be a good place to post a question regarding the use of vinyl stencils on a ceiling?

I have run into a couple of issues with my current project and wanted to see if anyone could help, but I'm wary of posting in the wrong subforum.

gwizah

Let it go right here. What are your problems ??

Okay, guess I'll post here.

I am a mural artist/painter by trade and I am currently working on a ceiling project using my 1st cutter to produce stencils to mask a pattern that I then paint onto said ceiling.

My issue is twofold, one being, the stencil material I am using: Oramask 813. I wish I had looked at the specs more carefully, as I didn't read it's for smooth surfaces and I am using it on a ceiling, with multiple layers of plaster, paint, and all the associated bumps and waves that go with that.
Hindsight being 20/20, I would have prepped this ceiling very differently, and used oramask 810, or a variant instead. But that's a situation that I've resolved via TLC. (tedious, lengthy corrections!)

Any other suggestions on a vinyl that can be used with water-based paints, that can go over a slightly bumpy surface?

Project currently looks like this:
VNW3Fhu.jpg