• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

White flood coat help

Kustom X

We have a Roland LEJ-640ft and we are going to be doing some 48" x 65" prints on 1/2 acrylic second surface and we need to flood the back of the prints with white. Instead of flooding the print with white ink which will take up printer time and cost more in ink we were thinking of just painting on a couple coats of white. Does anyone know what would be the best product to use and would we need an adhesion promoter and if so what adhesion promoter? My background is in automotive painting, but the solvent based paints would probably destroy the print?

Martin Denton

back it out in white vinyl, as said previously, little washing up liquid to your water and it will go down nice and smoothly with a far better finish than you will get from paint...

TimToad

I'd be nervous about placing a dissimilar product over an ink of which you have the ability to coat with the same ink. Why did you buy a printer with white ink capability if not to use it when needed?

We do a fair amount of second surface graphics on clear acrylic and print them in reverse on our Roland solvent printer on clear cast vinyl and then back them up with white high performance vinyl. Seems to work really well for us.

Grizzly

It’s all about your print!