• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Window painting clown

Extremo

Hello my name is Scot but my friends and fans call me Extremo. I am a commercial and fine artist. My main business is window splashes. If you go to fastsplash.com you can see my work. Recently I purchased a Roland SP-540V. In addtion to other digital signwork I plan on printing on magnetic sheeting. Before I purchased the printer/cutter I was told it could print directly on magnetic material. Well after the fact I have discovered it's not as simple as I was told. It works wonders on other material like vinyl but with magnetic sheeting I am having to try many settings and alternative products to get it to work properly. I talked to Roland and they told me they don't recommend it, but they know people use it for that. So far I have made adjustments to the cutting strength, the calibration settings and a few other settings. It doesn't actually cut through the magnetic sheeting but it scores it wonderfully, when it does work. I discovered quickly that it cannot handle too large of a piece of magnetic sheeting. The material I started with is called Signmag. I finally got a good print on it. But the printer/cutter shuts down sometimes when it has a large piece in the machine like 24 x 24. It says motor error, turn off machine, or something to that effect. I decided to try another magnetic material called Razormag. It worked great and the machine didn't freak out even with a larger piece of material. It's thin and lightweight. It scored it great too. The only thing is the Razormag seems a bit flimsy and I am not sure it will hold up over the years on a car like the Signmag probably would. I did discover if I run a piece of Signmag through the machine that is 16" x 24" it seems to handle tha