• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Window Perf Laminate

cornflakes

Hi everyone, I read through some of the old posts on here regarding laminate options for window perfs.

I'm a graphic designer and I don't do my own printing. I ordered a 50/50 window perf with a "1.5 mil. Gloss Laminate" on it from one of my vendors, applied it to my window, and the blurriness/haze from it was just too much for me. I've been in cars and busses that have window perfs and they're never this bad. I yanked it off, then I was able to separate the laminate from some of the areas of the print, and without the laminate, the vision from inside the car is great.

So I'm going to get a replacement one now without laminate, but I still want protection. So what's a good recommendation?

I saw liquid and spray options. The spray option sounds appealing to me due to its low cost and simplicity. Which one do you guys use? Any tips on how to get a good application? (I read someone said not to spray it too close or else the spray will randomly get into the holes.)

I'm in Los Angeles, and it doesn't rain much here. We definitely don't get snow.

Thanks for your advice!!

JoshLoring

No lam, use spray lam while still on the paper (never spray on the glass). Install, trim and enjoy.
We dont laminate here in southern Cali- the sun doesn't play nice with Lam. I tell all my customers this. We can laminate it and your blind in the sun, or not and your blind in the rain. Your call.. There is NO perfect solution to this. Not sure there ever will be unless someone makes a really really really thin perf that allows the optically clear laminates to be squeeged onto the glass with zero air capture. Even then... I don't see the sun magically not reflecting off of the laminated perf....

AUTO-FX