• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Wood signage recommendations?

Pideas

I'm new to printing on wood. We currently print on 3M IJ35C film, laminate and then mount to 5-ply MDO wood. These signs are mainly exterior job site type signage. We run this on our HP latex printer.

I'm just wondering if this 3M material is the right material for this purpose. Since I'm new to this, is there anything i'm missing?

GaSouthpaw

Profane and profane accessories.
For those signs, yes- it's the correct material. There are less expensive alternatives, but don't abandon 3M for them until you've tested them fully to make sure they're truly comparable.

flyplainsdrifta

on a side related note, i just saw a new lightweight plywood designed for wide format printing. one of my distros brought it in from a seminar he went to the other day. looked pretty interesting. i think it was from 3a composites. not positive

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Hopefully your MDO boards have a top coat of paint and not just the prime from the factory.

Pideas

Hopefully your MDO boards have a top coat of paint and not just the prime from the factory.
Im using the primed one sided wood. I do not paint it.

Why does it need a top coat of paint? Is it going to be an issue down the road?

JimmyG

I know that primed MDO has a very flat finish to it; I sure think vinyl adhesive will not bond well to it, and will not last for long...I would definitely top coat with gloss enamel.

Gino

Premium Subscriber