• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Wrap installers - what ink do you prefer?

Quark

Merchant Member
Wrap installers - if you’re completely removed from the print process and do the installs only, what ink type do you prefer to install? Eco-solvent, latex or uv?

Texas_Signmaker

Very Active Signmaker
I am a wrap installer (not a printer) and I prefer Latex.

Dark colors on EcoSol where there is a lot of saturation makes the vinyl tear easier, "stringy" or aggressive or...I don't know how to describe it... It's like ecosol "eats" away at the vinyl and the darker colors apply differently (harder) then the lighter colors. There are already too many factors that effect how the vinyl behaves that specific day and adding in the variation of the effect of ecosol on the vinyl in dark colors compounds those problems. been years since I've installed with EcoSol inks though so I'm going on memory.

Most of the wraps I do are on location and outside...so my issues with how vinyl behaves may be more vastly magnified then someone that does them inside under the same conditions day in and day out.

I don't think I've used UV on a vehicle.

Last edited: