• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

BN2-20 Cuts are inconsistent

btheodore

Hello all!
I am very new here, 1st post and I hope this is not covered in another area. I have looked around in the forums and I have not see anything on this topic. If I am incorrect, please let me know and I will be happy to remove the post and move along.

By trade I work in the video games industry and I am a commissioned illustrator as my side hustle. I draw peoples cars in a cartoon style and I make stickers for them from that illustration. I like to die cut the stickers and was using a Cricut and Brother to cuts my stickers...God forgive me...and was always asked for bulk orders. Doing anything bulk on those machines is pain ( I could complain about that for days ) so with business picking up I decided to take a leap and bought a BN2-20. What a jump!
As I said above, I like to die cut my stickers...so cutting all the way through aka perf cut and not a kiss or contour cut.

I was really enjoying cutting like this but every now and then I get inconsistent cuts. By that I mean the area closest to the print head cuts like a dream, all the way through and the stickers are easy to pop out. The middle is kind of a mixed bag. Kinda easy to pop out, but met with a good bit of resistance but still workable. And then the area furthest away from the print head is a kiss cut. Doesnt even come close to touching the backing. I have the same perf cut settings in Versa Works set all the same so no multiple cut lines with different settings or anything like that. I was cutting at about 110grams of force and it was working great. I got those bad results so I tried to up the cut force, same results.
For my stickers, I am using the Roland cal vinyl.