• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

hey ya'll, newbie here from TN

grfxunl

LOL my wife made me write the intro:D
Our first post after many years of visiting this site. Every time I come here I always think I should visit a lot more often, for some reason this forum gets us psyched about the graphics business all over again.
Any ways we've had a Roland VP540i for at least 12 years or so. We've never had any problems with it. We've been in Orlando, Fl our whole life, recently moved to this one horse town in TN, my biggest fear was if this printer broke down what would we do, sure enough it just did...We think it needs a print head, but not sure, beside we know its seen its best days. so....if any body could recommend a tech near Johnson city that would be great.
Our second option is to buy a new one but not sure what's the most popular printers out there now a days. Its been a long time since we've looked into it. One of our suppliers is really pushing the Mutoh, printer with separate plotter, another one the Roland TruVis and somebody else said an Epson. Were doing some research but were thinking the people in the business opinions would be the best.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank ya'll :)

Boudica

Back to "educational purposes"
Welcome! You'll get a lot of opinion here. Lol.
Can you provide some more info on what you do?

Notarealsignguy

Arial - it's almost helvetica
The closest thing to what you have is either another Roland or a Mimaki CJV150. There has been some bad news here on the newer Rolands but they should have all of that sorted out by now.
If everything else is good with your printer, it may be better to just change the print head? It is pretty easy to do yourself and nothing to be scared of.

Rusty B