• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Inconsistant results

Photolew

Im new to the sublimation world. I recently purchased a Ricoh 7700 printer and a Geo Knight Combo press with the mug press.

One thing that is frustrating me is that I seem to be getting inconsistant results. For starters on the edges of mug (closest to the handle) the image many times fades a bit. But not always

As you can see in this image.

Settings are 400F for 4:30 min. Is this a pressure thing, a time thing, both...neither.

photo attached of this issue.

Attachments

• IMG_2887.jpg
    IMG_2887.jpg
    51.1 KB · Views: 159

Photolew

And the other issue I am having is that as Im doing a batch of mugs, using the same settings, I get inconsistant results. The attached photo isnt' the best but on the right side you hopefully can see how it is faded and not as good color as the mug on the left. These were done a few min apart on the same press.....

What am I missing?

Again same settings as abover 400F @ 4:30

Attachments

• IMG_2888.jpg
    IMG_2888.jpg
    51.9 KB · Views: 140

Bern

I would think it is a pressure issue . There may be differences in the diameter of different mugs and they are receiving less pressure closer to the handle . I bought a second hand mug wrap and found the mug wraps were able to achieve more consistent results and the image was able to printed from the lip of the mug to the base and closer to the handle than the mug press . When you clamp the mug in your press can you feel a difference in the pressure required to close the handle from mug to mug ? Edit I was typing like a snail when John posted above .

Photolew

Mugs different sizes?
this would mean pressure is different from one mug to another.

John