• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Mutoh 1608 flatbed hybrid

ChiknNutz

We are researching the viability of a flatbed printer, and this printer seems like it might be good for us, and the price is very attractive compared to other flatbeds. Since this printer technically isn't on the market yet, does anyone have any information that they'd like to share about it? Any opinions on entry-level flatbeds in general? We simply are not able to consider a Vutek or similar high-end printer, so it must be at the lower-end of the price scale. Are there any others in this price range (< $50k) to consider? I've been warned to stay away from the low-end Colorspans and don't know what else is out there yet as I'm just beginning my research on the subject. Thanks much!

ChiknNutz

Another couple that may be something to consider are
RasterPrinters - think I've heard a mixed bag about this company...comments?
Oce Arizone 250GT...no idea on price of this one.

gnemmas

These low cost flabeds are all with pinch roller fed design. Remember the Colorspan flatbed discussions a few days ago, regarding the problems of unreliable substrate feeding. I suspect the same issues exist.

rcboats1

I got to play with the 1608 in Orlando last fall and it, in my opinion, is pretty dang impressive. The prints were as crisp as the 1604, it handled flat stock well, over all I was very impressed.

There is a local shop that is getting one, I believe that it was supposed to be delivered last week, maybe this week. If you want to talk to him PM me, I'll dig up his number.

Tom Dalton

The Mutoh 1608 is about $45k (bundled with FlexiSign Pro).