• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Usage of old photos on new shop's website

jesseeee

So after 12 years of working in the sign industry, I'm thinking about branching out and starting my own business. Right now I'm in the preliminary steps of creating a company logo/website/etc.

Over the years I've done it all from design/output, to production, to installations. I've accumulated quite a collection of photos from signs I've installed over the years. I no longer work at those shops anymore, but I have all of the photos saved. These installs were done as an outside contractor, off the clock. I was wondering the legalities of using those photos of the signs I've produced/installed on my website to use as examples of signage we offer. Since I'm just starting out on my own I don't have much content to fill the website yet. Do those photos technically belong to me since I created, installed and photographed the signage? Or are they property of my previous employers?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Gino

Premium Subscriber
So after 12 years of working in the sign industry, I'm thinking about branching out and starting my own business. Right now I'm in the preliminary steps of creating a company logo/website/etc.