• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Air bubbles

Hi every0ne, i am getting a problem when i apply the vinyl onto foamex and some other surfaces, the only differnece is that i am not laminateing it, i leave the print to dry at least 24hrs before applying, i use a very small and thin needle to burst the air bubbles only to find they appear in other places lol!, i am new to digiprint but have been cad cutting for years and not had any big problems like this, any help please as my business partner is going mad at me and he thinks its me lol! Helllp!, thanks in advance

Gino

Premium Subscriber
I presume you're talking about a digitally printed vinyl.

What vinyl are you using and what size is the final print, that is giving you this/these problem ??

jiarby

your partner is right...

application error causes bubbles. your application technique is letting air get stuck under the print and/or you are letting the vinyl move (tunneling) that is causing folds & creases which trap air.

Look into a big squeegee, and watch some videos on youtube.

An unlaminated print may stretch, but should not get bubbles.

describe your mounting process better...

Custom_Grafx

I'm guessing you're using polyester film or something else which doesn't breath. If you're not letting your substrate outgass after removing the protective film, it'll bubble. Vinyl doesn't really give me that trouble coz it breathes. But chrome polyester films and the such cannot breath.

That's what it sounds like to me, when you say that you get rid of all the bubbles but you see more come back. Unless, you THINK you have burst all the bubbles, but have missed a couple, and your partner has better eyes or looks at it in different lighting or something...

Thanks