• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Expanding into signs and more...

Trip59

Hi folks! Ah, the first post... too much, too little, what to include :)

I wear many hats and have many interests, just about all of them creative. I work in IT, about to hit 10 years with the company in a month, but that's 'just' my day job. One of my main passions is teaching, which grew out of years of design work. I've done freelance/consulting graphic design, web design and web development since around 99 when an injury ended my Navy career. With some current trends in both higher education as well as web work, my wife and I made the decision to expand and diversify a bit. Our recent expansion brings us into the world of signage, initially cut vinyl, though I'm hoping to dust off my striping kit and expand the painted side as well in the coming months (have to get back into it). I'd love to get into printed graphics, but need to work up to the point of capital for the higher buy in.

Starting out with relatively little capital, but planning to upgrade equipment shortly; I recognize quality and have equipped my other shop (welding/machining/fabrication) with high quality equipment the same way, it just takes a bit of time.

This is starting as a part time venture, nights and weekends, and we'll see how it goes from there, I've already lined up as much work as I can handle, drawing from an existing customer base of satisfied contacts. My wife is taking on the side of heat transfer apparel and is looking to incorporate screen printing within the next year or so.