• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Fc7000-130

SignsRus

What do I need to use this plotter to contour cut some decals I want to print on my 64" Mutoh Valuejet?

I'm going to laminate the decals before I contour cut them if that makes any difference

Bigdawg

Just Me
WE have a FC-7000-75. I use Illustrator to do print and cuts. We use Cutting Master 2 to assign the registration when I print, then after we laminate I line up the eye on the first mark and it goes from there... I cut by layer instead of color when doing these.

Are you doing a perf cut with it too?

Disclaimer: I am VERY new to this machine so I could be very wrong :smile:

SignsRus

I will be using Flexi to do the print, laminating then using Flexi once again on the other pc to contour cut.

Can it be done using only Flexi?

Bigdawg

Just Me
I would think... can't help ya' though because I don't know how to assign the registration in Flexi... but I know it can be done.

Sorry!

bob

It's better to have two hands than one glove.
Simple, assuming you're using Flexi Pro. Which you'd have to be if you're printing with it.

Create the contour in Flexi using either the Effects->Contour or Arrange->Contour menus. The former creates the contour path for you, the latter creates a contour from a path you have created. Either way works just fine. The point being to create a contour known to Flexi.

Send the job to the Rip and Print. Set whatever parameters you need to set, things like registration mark type etc.

When you send the job to the production manager two jobs will be created. One for the printer and one for the plotter.

Print the print job, and then laminate it.

Load the laminated print into the plotter and send the cut job. Follow whatever directions appear vis-a-vis registration.